Pinetop Perkins Foundation Awards Record Number of

Scholarships for 2014 Workshop Experience

Pinetop Perkins Newsletter - May 12, 2014
Clarksdale, MS

The Fifth Annual Master Class Workshop Experience will be held June 18- 20, 2014

A total of 23 scholarships were awarded to young musicians from 17 different states around the country

to attend the Pinetop Perkins Foundation's Fifth Annual Master Class Workshops this year in Clarksdale, Mississippi. This includes two youth who were given the Ann Rabson Memorial Scholarship: Logan Layman from Williamsburg, Virginia was given the piano award, while the guitar award went to Mike Butler from Union Beach, New Jersey. The Pinetop Perkins Foundation awarded an additional 21 scholarships to young musicians attending piano, harmonica and guitar workshops. The scholarship winners this year are an impressive group of accomplished and talented young musicians.

Bob Margolin, Austin Young and intern Christone Kingfish Ingram cover the guitar workshop. The harmonica workshop is led by Gary Allegretto with David Berntson assisting, and Daryl Davis and Clay Swafford lead the piano workshop. They will be joined by a number of adult workshop participants for the three-day event.

The workshops begin on June 17 with a meet-and-greet dinner at Hopson Commissary. It includes a reception Thursday evening at the Delta Blues Museum and concludes with a gala performance at Ground Zero on Friday evening, June 20. Although the scholarships are closed, a limited number of slots are still available in the harmonica and piano workshops. The guitar workshop is filled up for this year.


2014 Ann Rabson Memorial Scholarship Winners

Logan Layman is part of a sibling duo called "In Layman Terms" hailing from Williamsburg, Virginia where Logan is an eight grader at Toano Middle School. Logan and her brother Cole have a passion for the blues and write original, foot stomping music. They have been making music together for as long as they can remember. Logan was named "Blues Kid of the Year" in 2013. She is known as the little girl with the BIG voice. Logan�s favorite female vocalist is Shemekia Copeland.

Eighteen-year-old Mikey Butler hails from Union Beach New Jersey, and has been playing for almost 12 years and studying under blues great Matt O�Ree for seven. His main blues influences are Alvin Lee (of Ten Years After), Steve Miller, and Joe Bonamassa. He says that �I am honestly just an average teenager off-stage with average grades and a good group of fdriends. But on stage I am Mikey B. A whole new persona comes out and I let my guitar take hold of the audience to pull them in.� This is Mikey�s second time studying with Bob Margolin at the Pinetop Foundation Workshops. He writes that Bob �has inspired me to do so much with music and I feel like my time in Clarksdale isn�t done yet.�


Pinetop Perkins Foundation 2014 Scholarship Winners

Adam Land
Sophie Bernheisel
Andrew Sullivan
Cole Layman
Jesse Black
Garrett Parker
Joe Tellmann
Alissa Grattuso-Chesis
Adam Miller
Jake Kulak
Kelsey Carlisle
Connor Stith
Derex Williams
Ian Glass
Nic Clark
Evan Hawk
Carson Diersing
Justin Gates
Nigel Schonfeld
Marcus Cartwright
Aidan Thomas Hornaday
Fremont, Indiana
Greenbelt, Maryland
Vancleave, Mississippi
Williamsburg, Virginia
Jasper, Tennessee
Rockwall, Texas
Franklin, Ohio
Denver, Colorado
Novato, California
Glastonbury, Conneticut
Mt. Airy, North Carolina
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Helena, Arkansas
Indianapolis, Indiana
Arvada, Colorado
Franklin, Indiana
New Palistine, Indiana
Rockford, Illinois
Shelbyville, Indiana
Holly Grove, Mississippi
Atlanta, Georgia

Further information and a complete schedule of events are available on the Pinetop Perkins Foundation website at

For media inquiries, contact Amanda Sweet, Bucklesweet Media 347-564-3371 or

Copyright � 2014 Pinetop Perkins Foundation, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is: Pinetop Perkins Foundation P.O. Box 1916 Clarksdale, MS 38614

Site Design By EQ Design  |  Business Web Hosting by Verity Hosting
Last revised on August 14 2012, Copyright © 1999 - 2012, All rights reserved.